WI Comprehensive Planning Law

Wisconsin’s Comprehensive Planning Law (Statute 66.1001, Wis. Stats.) was passed as part of the 1999 Budget Act. The law requires that if a local government engages in zoning, subdivision regulations, or official mapping, those local land use regulations must be consistent with that unit of local government’s comprehensive plan beginning on January 1, 2010. The law defines a comprehensive plan to have at least the following nine elements:

  1. Issues and Opportunities
  2. Housing
  3. Transportation
  4. Utilities and Community Facilities
  5. Agricultural, Natural, and Cultural Resources
  6. Economic Development
  7. Intergovernmental Cooperation
  8. Land Use
  9. Implementation

Adopted Plans
Since 2000, the Wisconsin Department of Administration has received over 620 final and draft plans. Many of these plans are posted online. Visit the Comprehensive Planning Grant Program’s Library of Plans for access to hundreds of Web links.

Comprehensive Planning Grant
Polk County was awarded a 2007 Comprehensive Planning Grant from the Wisconsin Department of Administration. This multi-jurisdictional grant is being used by the participating municipalities to establish local comprehensive plans as well as amendments to the County’s 2003 Land Use Plan.

Resources Related to the Information Above